So, this picks up just a few months from where we left off.

The ladies now have 2 late-teen kiddos living with them and contributing some slave labor to the household. The older of the two is a college dropout, spoiled and strikes me as the “ooh, it’s tooooo haaaard, I don’t liiiiiike it” kind of why girl I love to hate. So she has like this totally brill plan, yeah, to like make money with like, uh the farm. Or several totally brill and not actually well-researched or thought out plans. No, she doesn’t actually speak that way in the book, but damned if I didn’t hear that in the back of my head.

The boy teen is really just fodder for drama–nothing house-related except that he does work around the house (and nearly burns stuff down and steals other things). I’ve got little use for his story line.

A change from the last book, that initially I hated, then I liked, then it took a left turn at “really, really, you just didn’t have to do that” is these snippet chapters where we see a little bit into the lives of women who have lived at the house over the years. I think I was mixed on this because this is really a “life and times of x persons” type of book who rest on renovations as facilitating why they are together and we care (like life and times books of knitters or book groups). And I haven’t been coached to care about the characters who are from different times that don’t impact the current characters in the book–or do they??? That’s all I’ll say about it. I won’t spoil the details, but contrived and unbelievable are two words to describe how I feel about it.

So, this is clearly less positive than the last review. And yet, I still like the farm. I’d still read another. The writing is still well done–despite the plot wanting some help at times. And for as much as I hate the totally brill idea chick, it’s kind of fun contemplating what the different ideas actually implemented would mean for the farm.

Read it if you liked the first one.

