diplomats wifeI’d read it again–I mean as a “go back in time and make the choice to read it again” but I won’t really re-read it. I’m not sure where I stand on this book overall yet.

The Diplomat’s Wife is an interesting premise, beginning with a story that immediately gets you in the thick of the protagonist’s WWII resistance efforts, arrest, struggle to remain alive, rescue and convalescence.  And it makes an admirable transition to love story where you root for her to want to live again. For about the first half of the book, I am amazed at the twists and turns of the plot.  But it ends up being far more convoluted than I usually like in a story. Once you realize the type of gyrations the author is willing to employ, it’s terribly easy to predict the rest of thee entire book, which removes a lot of fun of the read.

All that said Jenoff is a tremendous painter of pictures with her words. I was there in the darkness of her cell. I was with her in the mildewy gardener’s shack with the very hot American soldier.  I could clearly envision a grey, hopeless day in Poland at the park. From this perspective alone, I would recommend giving it a read. The author is really quite talented–I think she just needed an editor or someone to tell her you don’t actually have to use all of the standard “gotchas” of pseudo-suspence novels in one go.

Her talent with words has sufficiently captured my interest though to to add a book on the Resistance to my TBR list and I will likely read her acclaimed “The Kommandant’s Girl” at some point.

