I mentioned awhile ago that I had considered starting a series of posts on elements of the ridiculous. I’m not speaking of my day to day observations, although in a law firm, I’m certain I could find new fodder for daily posts. Rather, I will focus on movies, mostly classics, that have elements of the ridiculous in them, enough so that I can overlook some of the truly horrible messages such films send and frankly love them to pieces. For example, should we rejoice that Eliza Doolittle is essentially a kept woman to a man who thinks of her as an attractive secretary? Or perhaps we should laugh and smile and nod our heads at a contented Audrey Hepburn who stops being a rather high class whore to fall-in-love with, not necessarily marry, another ex-kept man? Or just maybe it’s every Doris Day film ever made that should have independent, successful women everywhere nod their heads in agreement that if only the right studly Rock Hudson-esque kind of man were to fall into her life, everything would be just perfect–just the way it should be.

I adore My Fair Lady, Breakfast at Tiffany’s and very nearly every Doris Day flick ever made, with a special nod to Pillow Talk and That Touch of Mink (cary grant! swoon!). But let’s face it, none of these women make decisions that should be held up as models for the modern woman. It’s the silliness, the artlessness of each character, the utter ridiculousness of the male in each of the stories that somehow allows you to process but overlook the take home theme. So look here from time to time for movie reviews with a look into it’s ridiculous elements and why I still watch them all and so will my daughter.

