sampler and heart

Sometime in early February, I decided to stop being an embroidery stitch weenie and try out fancy stitchin’. So I bought this book: and pulled out the sampler from Doodle Stitching. I also decided to just use whatever colors suited me and tried not to obsess about matching. I think it turned out rather well. Here are a series of photos with the stitching. sampler 1

sampler 2

sampler 3I really thought chain stitches and featherstitches were fun to do. It took me a while to get a hang of the stem stitch, but then I really liked that one too. I’d love to draw something up to do a ton of lazy daisies as well. All fun, and all much easier than I thought they would be–although, if I had been working only from the instructions for each stitch from Doodle Stitching, i might have gouged my eyes out with my embroidery needle. I much prefer the instructions in this stitch dictionary. It has multiple, excellent quality, focused on detail photographs for each kind of stitch, and it made a huge difference in my enjoyment of the project.

Bunny has declared it beautiful and needs it for her bed. So it’s destined to be a small round pillow, just as soon as I decide to make it 🙂

In the spirit of being less of a stitching weenie, I took the idea to embroider a small felt heart for Bunny for Valentine’s Day. It seriously took 10 minutes.

Step 1: Cut a heart-shape through two layers of felt with pinking shears.

Step 2: outline what you want to stitch.

Step 3: Stitch words with back stitch.

Step 4: Running stitch around the edge of both layers together, leaving a 1 inch hole for stuffing.

Step 5: Get the stuffing out of your hall closet (what, you don’t keep yours there too?) and stuff the heart.

Step 6: Finish running stitch.

Step 7: Whip stitch safety pin to back of heart.

Step 8: Watch your daughter be amazed and beg to wear it to school.

*And I still can’t figure out how to make pix appear side by side (despite bookwormbethie’s best efforts :)) . Maybe it’s my theme?

