Yeah! I finally found a couple that I want to do that I know I can achieve. I’m joining the Casual Classics 2009 Challenge. casualclassics5The deal is to pick 4 classics and read them before hte end of 2009. Easy? Probably not since I can’t read classics in just a few nights. So why do this? It’s the answer to my quest to read less trash. 🙂 This would equate to one supposedly worthwhile book (because “they” say it’s a classic after all) each quarter. Surely that will help de-trash my stash, no?

So here are my four picks (that I am free to change at any time I want! what a great challenge!)

  1. Cold Comfort Farm by Stella Gibbons (hey, I’m easing into it)
  2. Mansfield Park by Jane Austen (the only Austen I’ve never read)
  3. Bleak House by Charles Dickens (Why am I doing this to myself?)
  4. Mrs. Dalloway by Virginia Woolf (or Mrs. Warren’s Profession by Shaw)

I’ve also joined:

library_challenge-21

2009 Support Your Local Library Challenge–25 books. This challenge for me is a bit ridiculous since I rarely buy books anymore. There just aren’t many books that I encounter that I know I will read again and again. The last book I bought was an embroidery book–a reference type of book. In any case, I’m only doing 25 books because I just frankly have no notion of how many books I read each year. So we’ll give this a shot and see.

Oh, I’ll be keeping track of my results here. Enjoy.

