So this book that I absolutely loved and raved about a little while ago was made into a movie in 1959. I think one of the funnest parts about this movie is simply the eye-candy. You really are stepping into career-girl digs, offices, and NYC haunts in the 1950s.

By and large, the film is missing any actors of note other than  a small part for Joan Crawford who plays a woman named Amanda Farrow. I neglected mentioning here in my book review, mostly because I think she was too peripheral. I suppose in some ways she is the warning of the book: you can “have the best of everything” but at what cost. She is a 30 or 40 something single, editor. She’s a beast to work for and you get the clear feeling that she’s not happy–nor will she ever be. Crawford’s part in the movie is about as in depth as it was in the book, really just a bit part.

The rest of the movie was sort of lackluster. I think they fairly nailed the characterizations and appropriate casting for almost all of the characters.  But the central story focuses really on the main protagonist fomr the book and in some very small, and short shrifting way, develops a couple of the other girl’s characters, leaving out entirely some of the more interesting story lines: 1) the single mom, making good in the business world who actually ends up, I think anyway, the only one really satisfied and happy with her life and 2) the abortion. It was the 1950s, and I’m sure they were not going to say that single moms can do just as well in life as anyone else. And people simply didn’t speak of abortion in polite company–so you can excuse the small giggle I had (no, really!) when instead of hte evil rich socialite boyfriend driving the pregnant girl to the clinic to have the abortion, she loses the baby in the film by realizing he isn’t going to marry her and she jumps out of the car. You’ll also excuse, I’m sure, my hearty guffaw at that girl’s love intrest becoming, naturally, the doctor who treats her at the hospital. Yeah, I heart the 1950s. That’s almost as good as the royally far-fetched People Will Talk with Cary Grant. I see a review of that in the future (and I actually adore that movie).

The movie is decent eye-candy. If you haven’t read the book, I think there would be too many holes in the plotline for you to really be able to care about the people. If you have, I’d watch it.

